Kindergarten Book

I am calling it a book, but it isn’t really one in the sense most would think of it. It is more like a scrapbook. It had a pocket to store papers or pictures from each class and a little info about the child at that age. Awww.

Kindergarten Stats

Kindergarten Stats

I think this is the only time I ever had my picture taken with a vest on, but a cute picture – I was cute at one time. My teacher was Mrs. Cartwright and I began school that year on September 15, 1969 (There is a friend of mine on-line who would be born on this date in another 5 years, little did I know that then). Age 5 and basically the same weight as my height (44 in. and 45 lbs. respectively), already nearly two-thirds my eventual height.

The other side of this pocket has little information added but it does raise some questions.

Back Page Kindergarten

Back Page Kindergarten

It shows I made 9 new friends, but 5 are crossed off. Why is that? Did I already lose them as friends in less than a year’s time? Upon closer inspection they are all girls that are crossed out. My mom wrote the names down, but I’m not aware of when the names were crossed out. Maybe I went through a phase where I didn’t like girls even though I found them friendlier than boys.

My best friend lived next door and yet she is one of the crossed off names – Peggy Anne. Apparently poor Gary was an afterthought  since he is by himself a couple of lines down. I really remember little from that class.

My mom checked off that I wanted to be a fireman when I grew up. Doesn’t every boy want that? I find it interesting that Astronaut is there as this was when the space race was in full form. I doubt many aspire to go to space these days, not even MySpace. Lastly you can see the earliest record of my signature and the last time it was so readable.

Leave a Reply

